Posted in A doctor's diary

Benefits of being TOOTHLESS

stock-vector-cartoon-vector-illustration-old-black-man-58002931

                                                      picture courtesy Google images

Hi guys  ,

Our college had very few ‘ natural ‘ patients in some departments . If you had read my previous post in this category you would be knowing that already , if not , well I am telling you now 🙂 . We paid the ‘non natural’ ones and with each treatment they got richer .  For students in majority of the private dental colleges in India this is a crisis .

I was into the last phase of Prosthodontics posting (that is where we replace the missing tooth or teeth) when I realised that I needed one more patient and had only a week left  . We were 6 in a batch . Waiting for 6 new patients to come in that week wasn’t a good idea . It was final year and I was worried .That is when a senior mentioned David uncle .

And so it was David uncle , my saviour , my last complete denture patient for that year .

The next day as I walked to the department  he was there waiting for me . I never knew the amount of happiness a toothless smile could give till that very moment . He was a patient to the college since it’s first batch and we were the seventh . We paid him 500 Indian rupees per sitting and there were five . With the number of dentures he had , he could easily get a place in the Guinness Book of World Records if he wished . My work was just three dentures old but the knowledge he possessed I couldn’t imagine . It was time for  me to take the secondary impression and while I was taking the tray to his mouth, he said “ you haven’t mixed it right , my child ” . 

“ what ?” I asked quite surprised . 

He was right .

I did manage to complete the denture in a week’s time . There were lots of suggestions and tips from David uncle which I used though . One couldn’t blame the students for fighting to have him as their patient for the boards ( I was among them too ) .He would never let you down even if your work did . I wouldn’t be surprised if he were given a teaching post at our college either .

I graduated from college the next year ,a better dentist , it’s been 3 years now and the last I heard of him was that he was building a house ,at 85 that is , being TOOTHLESS was how he achieved it !!!

😉

Author:

I am a dentist trying my hand at writing. I am here to let my thoughts unravel!

8 thoughts on “Benefits of being TOOTHLESS

      1. On a serious note, I liked your writing. People who are not in the medical profession do not get much exposure or peek into the life of a would- be-doctor during college days, the pressure, the challenges etc. So it’s kind of interesting, please do continue to write on this topic ..

        Like

Have something to say?? Hop on to my 'comment' wagon ;-) .

